Proudly Serving Delaware County And BeyondLaw Pay | Available 24/7 - Consultation Is Free
Firm Logo
Home /
Possible Consequences Of Drunk Driving In Pennsylvania

Possible Consequences of Drunk Driving in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania has three categories of DUIs: General Impairment, High Rate and Highest Rate. General Impairment is when your BAC is between .08 and .10. High Rate is between .10 and .159, and Highest rate is above .159. When you refuse to take a chemical test, the judicial system automatically charges you with General Impairment but with penalties of the Highest Rate.

DUI classes

DUI classes are mandatory on your first and second offense of drunk driving. The classes take about 13 hours and teach you about how alcohol affects your judgment. A DUI class will cost around $200. If you miss a class, the instructors report this to the court or your probation officer. Some DUI classes could last as long as 36 hours of instruction time.


Probation is a possible consequence even on your first offense of drunk driving. For a first offense, the court could sentence you up to six months of probation.


A $300 fine is mandatory for your first offense of a general impairment DUI in Pennsylvania. If you have a High Rate first-offense DUI, the mandatory fine is $500, but it could be up to $5,000. The mandatory fine for a High Rate first-offense DUI is $1,000 and could be up to $5,000. Second and third offenses also come with mandatory fines.

Jail time

As long as your first offense is general impairment, there isn’t a mandatory jail-time punishment. For a high DUI, the required minimum jail time is 48 hours. The highest rate DUI requires 72 hours. The second and third offenses have longer mandatory jail-time penalties. At minimum, you will spend five days in jail on a second offense at the general impairment level. However, the court could sentence you up to six months. The minimum required jail time for a high second offense is 30 days, and the minimum for a highest-rate second offense is 90 days.

House arrest

Some counties in Pennsylvania offer house arrest instead of jail time for second-time offenders. However, they may still require that you serve part of your sentence in jail.

The penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania become more severe for each offense. A higher BAC also increases the severity of the consequences.

Lesniak Counties Served in PALesniak Counties Served in PA

We Take Cases Throughout The State Of Pennsylvania Including:

Philadelphia County, Allegheny County, Montgomery County, Bucks County, Delaware County, Lancaster County, Chester County, York County, Berks County, Lehigh County, Westmoreland County, Luzerne County, Northampton County, Dauphin County, Cumberland County, Erie County, Lackawanna County, Washington County, Butler County, Monroe County, Beaver County, Centre County, Franklin County, Lebanon County, Schuylkill County, Cambria County, Fayette County, Blair County, Lycoming County, Mercer County, Adams County, Northumberland County, Lawrence County, Indiana County, Crawford County, Clearfield County, Somerset County, Carbon County, Columbia County, Armstrong County, Pike County, Bradford County, Wayne County, Venango County, Bedford County, Perry County, Mifflin County, Jefferson County, Huntingdon County, Union County, Tioga County, McKean County, Snyder County, Susquehanna County, Clinton County, Warren County, Clarion County, Greene County, Elk County, Wyoming County, Juniata County, Montour County, Potter County, Fulton County, Forest County, Sullivan County, Cameron County