The possible penalties for a charge of driving under the influence - DUI - are numerous and vary depending on a wide range of circumstances. If police arrested you and charged you with a DUI in Delaware Valley, you are likely wondering what the next steps will be and what impact this charge can have on your life and future.
Sometimes, one drink leads to another, and with everyone passing the pitchers of beer around the table, it may be difficult to determine how much alcohol you had over the evening. On your way to your car, you may discover that you do not feel as steady as you thought. You have to make a decision now, and driving home seems iffy at best. You decide to take a nap in your car first.
DUI checkpoints are legal in the state of Pennsylvania. Police officers can test drivers at these locations to determine if they have an illegal blood alcohol content. If caught driving under the influence, then a person without any previous criminal record could still face up to six months probation, a suspended license, and a $300 fine.
The courts take crimes against children very seriously. Therefore, when an adult faces false accusations of child abuse, it is important he or she knows how to fight them.
Drinking during college is common. In fact, a study performed by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism found that nearly 60 percent of college students drank alcohol within the last month. That includes college students under the age of 21. A significant portion of that percentage binge drank alcohol.
If you get arrested for driving under the influence in Pennsylvania, you might be wondering what your options are. For example, are you required to take a chemical test? What happens if you refuse testing for your blood alcohol content? Due to the varying state laws about implied consent, this can be a confusing topic for many people.