In Pennsylvania, it is important to understand the laws that regulate firearms. Issues such as what type of gun is illegal in any circumstance, who can and cannot own a gun, whether there is a gun license requirement and more are important to know about. These laws are even more vital to understand for a person facing criminal allegations.
Key aspects of Pennsylvania gun laws
Under Pennsylvania law, people cannot have guns that are adapted to be easily hidden or to have a silencer; they cannot have a machine gun, nor can they have sawed-off shotguns. Those who have been convicted of a crime or committed acts as a juvenile that would result in criminal charges for an adult cannot have a firearm. Fugitives from justice, those who are declared incompetent, people in the U.S. without authorization and those who have protective order against them are also barred from owning a gun.
Although a license to own a firearm is not required, those who want to carry a concealed firearm must have a license to do so. On the other hand, people do not need a license to carry the firearm openly except in Philadelphia.
Regarding criminal defense charges, a misdemeanor can lead to up to five years’ incarceration and a fine of up to $10,000. For a felony, the person may be imprisoned for between 10 and 20 years and fined up to $25,000.
Experienced guidance is essential when arrested for firearms violations
People who have a gun for any purpose should be cognizant of the state gun laws. Since gun crimes are treated seriously when there is an arrest and a person is prosecuted, a strong defense is essential. It may be useful for someone facing criminal charges to have an experienced attorney help fight these charges and seek a positive outcome.