While most people know that getting behind the wheel after drinking can lead to a DUI, did you know that the same prohibitions apply to driving after smoking a joint? Because soft drugs like cannabis are so common on college campuses, a drugged DUI can be particularly concerning for students and their parents.
If you are a college student, understanding local laws and your school’s code of conduct can help you avoid running into legal trouble that could jeopardize your education. Before eating that edible and driving your friend home, consider these three things you should know about drugged DUI charges.
1. Soft drugs can still lead to a DUI
According to Pennsylvania law, police can charge anyone driving under the influence of a Schedule I substance with a DUI. Because soft drugs like cannabis flower and dabs fall under the federal government’s Schedule I classification, it is not uncommon for these popular drugs to lead to DUIs.
2. DUI charges are misdemeanors in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, a DUI charge is a misdemeanor, but that does not mean it is not serious. On the contrary, driving high can still lead to jail time of up to 6 months and fines between $1000 and $5000. In addition, you can lose your license for over a year.
3. A DUI charge may be against a college’s code of conduct
Although misdemeanors do not typically keep people out of college, a DUI charge while enrolled may be against your school’s code of conduct. For some colleges and universities, there could be negative academic consequences such as suspension.
As soft drug laws change around the United States and college students respond, driving laws are repeating the same message: Do not drive while under the influence.