Marijuana has not been decriminalized in Pennsylvania, and the penalties for possession and distribution are strict. While medical patients with certain conditions are allowed to possess a certain amount of marijuana with a permit, you may not use it recreationally, even if you are over 21 years old.
Marijuana possession is a misdemeanor crime in Pennsylvania, while the sale of certain amounts can be either a misdemeanor or a felony.
Marijuana possession penalties
According to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws, if you are caught with 30 grams or less of marijuana, you may be charged a fine of up to $500, and you could spend up to 30 days in jail. Possession of more than 30 grams is also a misdemeanor, but you could be fined as much as $5,000 and be incarcerated for as long as one year. You could also potentially face doubled penalties if it is not your first offense.
Marijuana distribution and sale penalties
If you have been selling marijuana, the court may choose to fine you enough to take away all of your profits from any drug sales. Sale to a minor can double the penalties, and you may get an extra two to four years in prison if you are caught selling within 1,000 feet of a school.
The default penalties for distribution of 30 grams or less can include a fine of up to $500 and a jail sentence of up to 30 days, and it is typically considered a misdemeanor. You may be charged with a felony if you are caught distributing more then 30 grams, and this can involve a fine of up to $15,000 and a period of incarceration between two-and-a-half and five years.