If you are charged with DUI in Pennsylvania, you will face a range of penalties. These penalties vary based on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, as Pennsylvania uses a tiered penalty system when it comes to DUIs.
Factors that determine the penalties you will face include your past criminal record if applicable, your current license status, and your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest. Here is a breakdown of how different BACs can affect the outcome of your case.
.08% to .099% BAC
Assuming you have no prior DUI offenses on your record, this BAC range is classed as an ungraded misdemeanor. That means you will be subject to a $600 fine, no more than 6 months of probation, and mandatory attendance of alcohol safety classes. You may also be obligated to undergo substance abuse treatment depending on the circumstances surrounding your case. One or more prior offenses increase penalties, which can include license suspension, jail time, enhanced fines, and an order to have your vehicle outfitted with an ignition interlock device for up to one year.
.10% to .159% BAC
This BAC range is also considered an ungraded misdemeanor, but the punishments are enhanced. Your license will be suspended for 12 months, you could face up to 6 months in jail, and fines could be up to $5,000. If you have two or more DUIs on record, you will be charged with a 1st-degree misdemeanor, which may entail up to 5 years and prison and a possible $10,000 fine.
.16% and higher
Jail times and fines are higher when a person with no prior DUI history is arrested with a BAC in this range. This includes a possible prison sentence of up to 6 months and a maximum $5,000 fine. When there are additional DUIs on your record, an 18-month license suspension may be included with penalties like jail time, fines, ignition interlock, and substance abuse treatment.