The outcome of getting charged with driving under the influence in Pennsylvania can be different for everyone depending on how serious the consequences of their actions were. For people who are repeat offenders, the consequences can be significantly more costly and require considerable resources to overcome.
According to the Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board, in some situations, people charged with a DUI for the first time may be eligible to participate in the Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition program designed to provide education and lessen the impact of a drunk driving charge. However, eligibility for this program is dependent on whether or not people are repeat offenders, have already completed the ARD program once before, had underage passengers in their vehicle or caused a fatal accident because they were under the influence. Participants in the program are not given any jail time but are required to complete a number of other requirements and assignments for successful completion.
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation reminds people that the participation fee to be part of the ARD program can range from $100 to $1,800. Other consequences people may be facing if they have chosen to drive under the influence include having their license suspended, having their vehicle towed or impounded, legal fines, higher insurance costs and requirements to complete a treatment program.
Even more debilitating is the guilt and pain a person may feel if his or her actions result in a fatal car accident in which another person is killed. Physical injuries of their own can also require costly medical treatment and rehabilitation. Repeat offenders may lose eligibility to get car insurance at all and be facing significant jail time. Fortunately, with a resolve to change their behavior and an understanding of what consequences must be paid, people who have been charged with a DUI can work through the aftermath of their actions and still live a productive and successful life.