The DUI laws of Pennsylvania strictly prohibit anyone from driving or operating any vehicle or machinery if they have a blood concentration level of 0.08% or more. It as well is illegal if the drivers are using any schedule I or schedule II controlled substances or if alcohol or drugs impair their body, and they cannot operate a car.
The consequences of a DUI are generally dependent on the circumstances of the driver. Receiving a third offense in Pennsylvania means that they have two other convictions on their record. There are several penalties a driver may have to go through once they get a third DUI conviction. These include:
Driving around with a BAC of at least 0.08% but less than 1% is a second-degree misdemeanor. A driver may get a period of 10 days to 2 years in jail. They may spend fines between $500 and $5000 and receive a driving license ban of 12 months. A motorist may only resume back to driving only after taking an alcohol safety class and taking part in a substance abuse treatment.
When a driver receives a DUI conviction that involved someone receiving an injury or death or destruction of someone else’s property, the driver looks at facing not less than 90 days to five years in prison, 18-month license revocation and fines ranging between $1500 t $10,000.
Also, drivers that receive a third DUI charge but refuse to take a breath test, or if the drivers have a BAC of 0.16% of any controlled substance, they are facing a third-degree felony. The driver may serve up to seven years in jail, lose their license for 18 months or pay $2500 to $15,000.