You did everything right as a parent, including sending your child off to a great school in Pennsylvania, trusting him to make good decisions in another state. Then you get a troubling phone call: He has been charged with marijuana possession. Amid your shock and disappointment, you might have a lot of questions about the charges.
The best thing for you to do in this situation is to understand the laws and punishments for possessing marijuana and what action you should take. Learn what penalties your son may face and what you can do.
Due to drastic changes in nationwide public opinion and legalization in certain states, many college students do not see marijuana as a big deal. It is not uncommon for young students to possess small amounts of the drug. Unfortunately, what may not seem serious to someone like your son is still punishable under Pennsylvania law-and federal law. If your son was caught with 30 grams or less, he is facing a misdemeanor charge that includes a $500 fine and up to 30 days of jail time.
Your son also faces a driver’s license revocation. According to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, all drug convictions result in a suspension of driving privileges. For a first offense, your son faces a suspension lasting six months. As a college student, your son might be facing discipline according to school policy. With a drug conviction on his record, your son might face difficulties in finding employment.
Now that you know the consequences, what can you do? Despite his mistakes, you still care about your son and want the best for him. Your best course of action is to consult a criminal defense attorney. With the right help, your son may get reduced charges, a dismissal or even an expungement.