If people feel they have been the victims of sexual assault, they may have mixed feelings as to what steps to take. There are many reasons for this, including the fact that they are unsure of whether or not they were actually victimized.
In the state of Pennsylvania, there is a different statute of limitations for sexual assault based on age. For a person over the age of 18, the statute of limitations is 12 years from the date of the incident.
For people under the age of 18, they have 12 years after their 18th birthday in order to file charges.
For people under the age of 18 with a birthdate after August 27, 2002, the statute of limitations extends to 32 years after their 18th birthday.
There are many types of sexual assault. For example, rape and involuntary deviate sexual intercourse are not one in the same. Not only is the crime itself different, but the potential punishment is not the same.
If a person feels they have been a victim of sexual assault, they should absolutely speak with authorities.
Conversely, if individuals are charged with sexual assault, they need to immediately understand the seriousness of the crime, as well as their rights.
There is a lot of gray area associated with sexual assault. From the statute of limitations to the crime itself, both parties will have many questions to answer and challenges to face.
Due to the potential of serious punishment, anybody accused of sexual assault should understand the statute of limitations among other important details.
Source: Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, “Statute of Limitations,” accessed April 04, 2016